The Golden Circle

OK, I want you to go with me on this one.  The most powerful way to increase your business is not a question of “how”.  It’s not a question of “what” can I do.  It’s a question of “why” do I do what I do.  It’s really a question of what do I “believe” about what I do that makes me different and sets me apart from everyone else.  Is it about passion?  Yes, absolutely, but, it’s also about convincing others to believe in your vision, your belief.  I would like you to take a few minutes and watch the following video from the TED conference.  It is a talk by Simon Sinek titled “How Great Leaders Inspire Action.”

It’s important that you watch the video before you continue.

It’s not easy stuff.  But, the concept of the “Golden Circle” not only makes sense on a visceral level and a biological level, it makes sense on a practical level. Why do we do what we do?  It’s a hard question to ask yourself, but it’s the difference between a way to make money and a way to innovate and make a difference in the world.

I’ll go first.  Why do I agent?  I believe I can help people reach the goals that their artistic passion demands of them.  It’s MY passion to protect artists and guide them.  I’ve seen the Artist’s path from all sides in my career and as a result I believe to my core that I can make a substantial difference in their artistic careers and livelyhoods.

What do you believe about what you do?  Why do you shoot, direct, design, act?  My challenge to you is to define it.  I have to say, after writing the previous paragraph, I feel empowered and clear.  Try it yourself and see what you can find out about yourself as an artist and an entrepreneur.  Write it down, print it out and put it in a place where you can refer to it often.

If you have the time,. Come back to this in a few days and watch the video again.  It took me a few times to really let everything sink in.  Let it inspire you and drive you forward!

One response to “The Golden Circle

  1. This video is brilliant! I’ve heard all about passion and motivation from other speakers, but never before have I heard the explanation for their role in success so perfectly articulated. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

